• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 W!m

W!m

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 May 2011 - 08:23 AM

Hello everyone, im hitting 30 soon and i really want to start playing ranked.
I was wondering if there are certain unwritten rules about ranked that i should know about :)
I'm not a total newbie on knowing what to pick and such but some of the more non predictable rules would help!

Thanks for helping!

Wim

#2 Dilatory

Dilatory

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 16 May 2011 - 10:27 AM

Don't play ranked as soon as you hit level 30 would be my biggest advice.

Build up a pool of champions you're really confident with, have runes for them, play a lot of normals, be the best damn last hitter at your ELO. Know enough to be flexible.

You'll do yourself no favours by jumping straight into ranked imo.

That said, if you're going to insist, I suggest you get decent at some tanky / jungle champs. People are always hesitant to tank/jungle at lower ELO. Udyr can still wreck faces, jungle Amumu always good. Talk to your team during bans, try and establish what people will be playing. Don't pick a champ you can't play just beacause someone told you to pick it.

Finally, try not to be negative. Games at lower ELO are never lost at picking. You can always turn a game around, even when they are down to your nexus turrets. All it takes is one ace. Don't rage at your team, and ignore people who rage at you. Buy a ward whenever you back. Don't be afraid to ask lanes to switch. Remember that you will lose games and sometimes it will be your fault. Learn from them.

#3 W!m

W!m

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 May 2011 - 10:34 AM